How many 49ers players have won Super Bowl MVP award?

San Francisco 49ers quarterback Joe Montana (16). Mandatory Credit: USA TODAY Sports
San Francisco 49ers quarterback Joe Montana (16). Mandatory Credit: USA TODAY Sports /

The 49ers have won five Super Bowls in franchise history. How many different players have won a Super Bowl MVP in those five victories, though?

The San Francisco 49ers have won five Super Bowls in their franchise’s history, and those five victories span all the way from the 1980s into the 1990s.

In each game, a Super Bowl MVP was named for San Francisco, but how many different players have won that coveted honor at the conclusion of each of those games?

Here, we look at the three players that have won a Super Bowl MVP for the Niners.

49ers Super Bowl MVP Jerry Rice

The legendary wide receiver Jerry Rice won the MVP award of Super Bowl XXIII back on Jan. 22, 1989.

In this game, Rice put up a stat line of 11 receptions, 215 receiving yards and one touchdown, and his 215 receiving yards and 220 yards total yards from scrimmage both are still single-game Super Bowl records to this day.

He would help the Niners defeat the Cincinnati Bengals by a score of 20-16 even though he didn’t have the game-winning touchdown grab during that legendary two-minute drive.

49ers Super Bowl MVP Steve Young

Hall of Fame quarterback Steve Young won the MVP of Super Bowl XXIX on Jan. 29, 1995. It would be Young’s first (and only) Super Bowl victory as a starting quarterback for San Francisco.

He had an absolute monster game against the (then) San Diego Chargers, putting up 325 passing yards, six touchdowns and zero interceptions, and Young’s six passing touchdowns from that game still hold a Super Bowl single-game record.

He threw touchdown passes to his favorite receiver, Rice, running back Ricky Watters and fullback William Floyd.

Young would lead the team to a 49-26 victory against the Chargers to make the 49ers the first team in league history to have five Super Bowl wins.

Read More: Who was the last Niners quarterback to win a Super Bowl?

49ers Super Bowl MVP Joe Montana

Hall of Fame quarterback Joe Montana won not one, not two, but three Super Bowl MVP awards with the Niners over his storybook career.

His first MVP in the big game came in Super Bowl XVI against the Bengals on Jan. 24, 1982. Montana threw for 157 yards and one touchdown and rushed for another one.

He would lead the team to a 26-21 victory.

Montana’s second Super Bowl MVP award came in Super Bowl XIX against the Miami Dolphins on Jan. 20, 1985. This time around, he would throw for 331 yards, three touchdowns and zero interceptions.

He also rushed for another touchdown. The Niners would win the game 38-16.

Montana’s third and final Super Bowl MVP award was won in Super Bowl XXIV on Jan. 28, 1990. He would throw for 297 yards, five touchdowns and zero interceptions.

The 49ers would defeat the Denver Broncos in that game by a score of 55-10.

dark. Next. Black History Month: Jerry Rice, 49ers first Black Super Bowl MVP