San Francisco 49ers: All-time passing leaders in franchise history

San Francisco 49ers quarterback John Brodie (12). Mandatory Credit: Long Photography-USA TODAY Sports
San Francisco 49ers quarterback John Brodie (12). Mandatory Credit: Long Photography-USA TODAY Sports /

The San Francisco 49ers are a franchise historically known for elite quarterback play over the years. A number of those quarterbacks even made it to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Who, though, sits atop the all-time franchise leaderboard of the 49ers in passing yards?

49ers passing leader No. 5: Y.A. Tittle

At No. 5 for the Niners in all-time passing yards is quarterback Y.A. Tittle. He spent 10 seasons with the 49ers from 1951 to 1960.

Tittle would earn four Pro Bowl selections and one All-Pro selection during his time with the team.

Tittle retired after the 1964 NFL season and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1971. Over his tenure with San Francisco, he racked up 16,016 passing yards.

49ers passing leader No. 4: Jeff Garcia

Jeff Garcia is No. 4 on the list of passing leaders in team history. The local kid, Garcia grew up in the Bay Area suburb of Gilroy and played college football at San Jose State.

In his first season with the 49ers in 1999, he started in 10 games going 2-8. He would follow that up with three straight Pro Bowl seasons after the rough start, however.

His tenure with the team was short, though, at only five seasons. But he would leave the team after passing for 16,408 yards.

49ers passing leader No. 3: Steve Young

At No. 3 on the list, no surprise, the ever-popular left-handed quarterback, Steve Young.

Young’s tenure with the Niners lasted from 1987 to 1999, and he would spend a good portion of that time though as a backup.

His first full season as a starter, though, came in 1992 in which he earned Pro Bowl and All-Pro selections, as well as the NFL MVP award. He would eventually win his first Super Bowl as a starter after the 1994 season.

Read More: Ranking 49ers’ 10 best quarterbacks in franchise history

Young retired in 1999 and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2005. He passed for 29,907 yards during his time with the team.

49ers passing leader No. 2: John Brodie

At No. 2 on the list is the oft-forgotten quarterback, John Brodie. He tends to get overlooked due to the success of his successors, but Brodie nevertheless had a decent career.

Brodie played his entire 17-year career with the Niners which included an NFL Comeback Player of the Year Award in 1965 and an NFL MVP Award in 1970.

Impressively, Brodie would finish his career with 31,548 passing yards for San Francisco.

49ers passing leader No. 1: Joe Montana

Now we get to the No. 1 passer in franchise history. It’s probably the least shocking person and most fans would’ve guessed it on their first try.

Quarterback Joe Montana, whom many had anointed the “Greatest of All Time” until very recently, is No. 1 in passing yards all-time for the 49ers.

Montana spent the first 14 years of his career with the Niners, taking the team to its first four Super Bowls and going on to win every one of them. He would finish his career with the team passing for 35,124 yards.

He would retire after the 1994 season, and be inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2000 to the surprise of no one.

Next. San Francisco 49ers: 15 best first-round draft picks of all-time. dark