San Francisco 49ers: Team Awards Dished out at the End of 2015 Season


The San Francisco 49ers handed out some in-team award hardware to a number of their own players at the end of the 2015 season. See which players received accolades for their efforts.

The 2015 season has come to a close, and the San Francisco 49ers are looking to the offseason as a time for the team to regroup and prepare in the wake of a 5-11 campaign and a forgettable year that saw more bad than good.

But there was some good. And a number of 49ers players ended up being recognized for their efforts.

The 49ers handed out their annual end-of-season awards on Thursday, and a number of recipients were clearly deserving of the accolades.

Here’s the list of award winners, courtesy of the team’s website:

Len Eshmont Award: Wide receiver Anquan Boldin

"The Len Eshmont Award is voted on by the players and is given to the 49er who best exemplifies the inspirational and courageous play of Len Eshmont, an original member of the 1946 49ers team. Eshmont, who coached at Navy and Virginia following his career in San Francisco, died in 1957. The award was established that year."

“This really means a lot to me,” Boldin said. “Those are the guys that get a chance to see you everyday, day in and day out, get to see you put in work. So, it’s big to earn the respect of your peers and an honor that they voted me the winner.”

Walter Payton Man of the Year Nominee: Wide receiver Anquan Boldin

"The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, named after the late Hall of Fame running back of the Chicago Bears, is given annually to the player who best exemplifies a commitment to philanthropy and community involvement.Each team will nominate one player and the 32 Man of the Year nominees will be pared down to three finalists in January. The winner will be announced in San Francisco, the site of Super Bowl 50, during the fifth annual NFL Honors awards show, on February 6."

Bill Walsh Award: Kicker Phil Dawson

"The Bill Walsh Award was established in 2004 in honor of San Francisco’s Hall of Fame Head Coach. Walsh served as the team’s head coach for 10 seasons from 1979-88. In that time, he compiled a record of 102-63-1 and led the team to three Super Bowls. He was twice named Coach of the Year (1981, 1984) and was later named Coach of the Decade for the 1980s. The award, which is voted on by coaches, is given to the 49ers team MVP, honoring his outstanding individual performance."

“Any award with Bill Walsh’s name attached to it is a big deal,” Dawson said. “In my three years in San Francisco, I’ve grown to learn even more about coach Walsh and respect him all the more. So, that’s a tremendous honor in and of itself. But, then to consider that the coaches were the ones voting on this, just puts it over the top.

“In most places, the kicker is just kind of an afterthought or a necessary evil. I’ve always tried to just be a football player and just come to work and do my job. This means quite a bit given the fact that I am a kicker. There are certainly other guys on the team who are deserving and I hold them in high regard. So, when you mix all that together, it’s a pretty special deal.”

Bob McKittrick Award: Tackle Joe Staley

"The Bobb McKittrick Award is given annually to the 49ers offensive lineman who best represents the courage, intensity and sacrifice displayed by the longtime offensive line coach, during his 21 years of service to the 49ers. The award was established by the 49ers in 1999, and is voted on by the offensive line."

“It’s an honor to win the Bobb McKittrick Award,” Staley said. “It’s a very long standing tradition with what Bob McKittrick meant to this organization and coaching the offensive line. It stands for a lot.”

Hazeltine Iron Man Award: Defensive Back Jimmie Ward

"The Hazeltine Iron Man Award is named for former linebacker Matt Hazeltine, a 13-year performer who played more seasons at linebacker than any other 49ers player. Known for his durability and dedication, Hazeltine passed away in 1987 from ALS, and Bill Walsh established the award in his honor that year. The award is given annually to the most courageous and inspirational defensive player as voted upon by the defensive coaches."

Thomas Herrion Memorial Award: Safety Jaquiski Tartt

"Thomas Herrion Memorial Award was established in 2005 by 49ers owners Denise and John York and is presented to a rookie or first-year player who best represents the dream of Thomas Herrion. The recipient has taken advantage of every opportunity, turned it into a positive situation and made their dream turn into a reality. The award is voted on by the coaches."

Perry/Yonamine Unity Award: Nose Tackle Ian Williams

"The Perry/Yonamine award is presented to the 49ers player who exhibits an exceptional commitment to promoting unity within the team and in their community. The Perry/Yonamine Unity Award is named for the former 49ers players and pioneers of unity and diversity, Joe “The Jet” Perry and Wally Yonamine, and is voted on by the players."

Ed Block Courage Award: Linebacker NaVorro Bowman

"The Ed Block Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts of 23 years. Block was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian whose most passionate cause was helping children of abuse. The award is presented in his name each year to the player that exemplified a commitment to sportsmanship and courage. Ed Block Courage Award winners from each of the 32 NFL teams are honored at a banquet in Baltimore, MD. All proceeds from the event benefit the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation’s Courage House National Support Network. Named after the NFL team in a respective NFL city, a Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in that community. The 49ers dedicated their Courage House in October 2003 at the Edgewood House in San Francisco."

The aforementioned names do carry a lot of the good that happened in San Francisco in what was otherwise a forgettable season.

An interesting point of note: Dawson, Boldin and Williams will be free agents this offseason. Perhaps such awards will be additional reasons the 49ers elect to bring one or all of these players back for 2016.

Next: 5 49ers Who Exceeded Expectations in 2015

All statistics, records and accolades courtesy of and unless otherwise indicated. Contractual information courtesy of Over the Cap.