Kyle Shanahan elaborates on penalty that wiped out Ambry Thomas touchdown

The 49ers' sideline wiped out a would-be defensive touchdown by Ambry Thomas, and Kyle Shanahan ended up taking responsibility.

San Francisco 49ers cornerback Ambry Thomas
San Francisco 49ers cornerback Ambry Thomas / Michael Zagaris/GettyImages

49ers-Jaguars final. 34. 42. Final. 3. 52

The 49ers had a strange few minutes when Ambry Thomas appeared to score a defensive touchdown, only to see a penalty called against the Niners.

Most things went well for the San Francisco 49ers during their 34-3 road victory over the previously red-hot Jacksonville Jaguars in Week 10.

Not everything, though.

The Niners would have liked to get running back Christian McCaffrey a touchdown so he could be the all-time leader in consecutive games with a score, but that didn't happen.

And, earlier in the game, San Francisco recorded one of its four defensive takeaways in a play that could have been a swell forced fumble, a recovery and a defensive touchdown by embattled cornerback Ambry Thomas, who saw significantly more field time against the Jags in the wake of nickel corner Isaiah Oliver being benched.

Check out Thomas' play at the 5:39 mark of the third quarter:

The whistle didn't stop, though, and Thomas subsequently got up and ran toward the end zone for what appeared to be a massive defensive takeaway and touchdown.

However, the officials elected to rule the play dead after the turnover, citing an unsportsmanlike penalty against San Francisco.

Except the officials never said who was responsible, leading to plenty of confusion until the Fox Sports broadcast crew (h/t KNBR 680) showed a plethora of 49ers players and coaches on the field during Thomas' return:


Kyle Shanahan clarifies what happened on penalty that wiped out Ambry Thomas' touchdown

Head coach Kyle Shanahan might want to pay for Thomas' dinner at some point soon for wiping out the touchdown, as the coach was one of the Niners on the field (you can see him in red in the lower left-hand corner of the photo above).

After the game, Shanahan spoke with reporters about what happened there and led off with a little humor, too, by saying it was "strategic" to get the offense back on the field for McCaffrey and Co.

Continuing, Shanahan elaborated on what happened by saying:

"We know the rule. We know you can't go on the field. I personally thought the play was over. It was a good learning experience for our team."

Yeah, an oops. But one that was made much easier to digest because of the lopsided score in favor of San Francisco.

Had the 49ers been in much closer a game, especially one that went down for a loss, the mistake would have been magnified tenfold.

Thankfully, it was nothing more than a gaffe that'll get lost in an otherwise dominant effort by the Niners.

Read more from Niner Noise